Weekly views from GF Securities’ macro research team【20210419】

AuthorGF Securities' Macro Research Team

Mixed economic data in March to widen divergence in expectations
1Q21 economy in line with estimates; weaker industrial performance in March should widen divergence in policy expectations China's real GDP increased by 18.3% YoY in 1Q21, largely in line with market expectation, a moderate rate that falls short of the upper-end of the expected range (around 20%), as industrial value-added did not continue the rapid growth seen in 2M21. The weak industrial performance should be due to the production that was resumed earlier than usual as people were encouraged to stay put during the Chinese New Year, companies’ profit constrained by rapid growth in costs, and tighter financing environment. China’s economic sentiment is likely to remain strong bolstered by exports, consumption, FAI and property sales. For the stock and bond markets, weak industrial performance in March has caused short-term expectations to diverge further and a decline in new social financing could lead to slightly higher expectations of policy easing. 
Guo Lei, April 16, 2021

How supply contraction has driven upswings in cyclicals
A new round of supply contraction set to begin amid the push for carbon neutrality; cyclical sectors are expected to see improved sentiment and valuations The outperformance of cyclicals has been driven by supply contraction since 2010. Historically, it took time for the market to be convinced that policies to constrain supply would be implemented in earnest. The stock price rallies in cyclical sectors lagged behind price hikes in industrial goods or improved capacity utilization ratio. Stock price upside is determined by fundamentals and valuations, while the bull-runs ended due to policy easing or demand softening. Yet, given this round of supply contraction is related to the carbon neutrality target which is set to be implemented with persistence, capacity utilization ratios and industry concentration are both high, and the supply and demand gap is widening due to economic recovery, cyclical sectors including steel, cement, aluminum and chemical fiber are expected to see improved sentiment and valuations.
Dai Kang, April 13, 2021

The impacts of Biden's upcoming infrastructure policy
Biden has outlined his infrastructure and tax hike plans but there are headwinds for implementation, which may lead to slightly higher fiscal deficit ratio and an end to the US stock bull-run. The White House has lately released the American Jobs Plan, meaning a policy mix of tax hikes and infrastructure construction has taken shape. Yet the plan is facing headwinds as some Democrats are against tax hikes, the infrastructure plan has to be bundled with tax hikes, and some parts of the plan may be shelved. We expect the infrastructure building and tax hikes to benefit the US economy and employment in the next ten years, which should increase fiscal deficit and may defer fiscal surplus until 2030. The new policies that aim at narrowing the income gap should drive up the US risk-free interest rate. The higher inflation and tax hike policy should put an end to the US stocks’ long bull-run, yet the boost from infrastructure will not be enough to drive a full-blown bull-run in the commodity market.
Zhang Jingjing, April 12, 2021

More

Legal Disclaimer

This report has been prepared by GF Securities Co. Ltd or its affiliates. GF Securities Co. Ltd and its affiliates are referred to as “GF Securities” hereinafter. According to the laws, regulations and regulatory requirements in different countries and regions, this report is distributed by the subsidiaries/operating bodies of GF Securities with relevant lawful and compliant operation qualifications in these countries and regions.

GF Securities (Hong Kong) Brokerage Limited (“GF Securities (Hong Kong)”) is licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong to conduct Type 4 Regulated Activity “Advising on Securities”. It is regulated by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong, and is responsible for the distribution of this report in Hong Kong.

GF Securities Co. Ltd is qualified to conduct securities advisory business as approved by the Chinese Securities Regulatory Commission. It is regulated by the Chinese Securities Regulatory Commission, and is responsible for the distribution of this report in China (except Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan).

Important Notices

GF Securities Co. Ltd and its affiliates may be seeking or building business relationships with companies mentioned in this report. Therefore, investors should consider the impact on the independence of this report by GF Securities Co. Ltd and its affiliates due to potential conflicts of interests. Investors should not make any investment decisions based solely on the contents of this report.The research analyst(s) primarily responsible for the content of this research report, in whole or in part, certifies that with respect to the company or relevant securities that the analyst(s) covered in this report: (1) all of the views expressed accurately reflect his or her personal views on the company or relevant securities mentioned herein; and (2) no part of his or her remuneration was, is, or will be, directly or indirectly, in connection with his or her specific recommendations or views expressed in this research report.The remuneration for the production of this report by research staff is determined based on various factors including the quality of research, client review and workload, and it is also affected by factors including GF Securities’ overall revenue, part of which is generated from GF Securities’ investment banking business.This report is distributed solely to clients or designated institutions authorized by GF Securities, and is not distributed publicly. It can only be used by the targeted recipients who have the obligation to maintain confidentiality. GF Securities does not view any persons who have received or read this report through other means as its clients.This report is distributed to a certain client based on the conclusion that this client is deemed to be able to assess investment risks independently, execute investment decisions independently and assume corresponding risks independently.The contents of this report is for reference only. Information contained or opinions expressed in this report does not constitute an offer or inquiry. Customers should not substitute their independent judgment with this report or make decisions based on this report.This report is published solely for information purpose and does not constitute an offer to buy or sell any securities or a solicitation of an offer to buy, or recommendation for investment in, any securities. The research report is intended solely for use of the clients of GF Securities. The securities mentioned in the research report may not be allowed to be sold in certain jurisdictions. No action has been taken to permit the distribution of the research reports to any person in any jurisdiction that the circulation or distribution of such research report is unlawful. No representation or warranty, either express or implied, is made by GF Securities as to their accuracy and completeness of the information contained in the research report. GF Securities accepts no liability for all loss arising from the use of the materials presented in the research report, unless is excluded by applicable laws or regulations. Please be aware of the fact that investments involve risks and the price of securities may be fluctuated and therefore return may be varied, past results do not guarantee future performance. Any recommendation contained in the research report does not have regard to the specific investment objectives, financial situation and the particular needs of any individuals. The report is not to be taken in substitution for the exercise of judgment by respective recipients of the report, where necessary, recipients should obtain professional advice before making investment decisions.GF Securities may have issued, and may in the future issue, other communications that are inconsistent with, and reach different conclusions from, the information presented in the research report. The points of view, opinions and analytical methods adopted in the research report are solely expressed by the analysts but not that of GF Securities or its affiliates. The information, opinions and forecasts presented in the research report are the current opinions of the analysts as of the date appearing on this material only which may subject to change at any time without notice. The salesperson, dealer or other professionals of GF Securities may deliver opposite points of view to their clients and the proprietary trading division with respect to market commentary or dealing strategy either in writing or verbally. The proprietary trading division of GF Securities may have different investment decision which may be contrary to the opinions expressed in the research report. GF Securities or its affiliates or respective directors, officers, analysts and employees related to research report business may have rights and interests in securities mentioned in the research report. Recipients should be aware of relevant disclosure of interest (if any) when reading the report.This Research report may contain and/or describe/present factual historical information on prices of Futures contracts (the “information”). Please note that this information is solely for the purpose of forming part of the argument/grounds/evidence in our research methodology/analysis to support our conclusion on our view of the relevant industry/company mentioned. It does not, by any means (express or implied) to be associated with or constituted as SFC Type 5 Regulated Activity (Advising on futures contracts).

Disclosure of rights

GF Securities (Hong Kong) does not have any investment banking relationship with the companies mentioned in this research report in the past 12 months.

Copyright notice

Without the prior written consent obtained from GF Securities, any part of the materials contained herein should not (i) in any forms be copied or reproduced or (ii) be re-disseminated.

宏观研究团队每周精选观点【20210419】

作者广发证券宏观研究团队

一季度经济表现整体符合预期,但与前两月相比,3月工业偏弱会扩大市场对政策松紧预期的分歧。 
       一季度我国实际GDP同比增长 18.3%,基本持平于市场一致预期,之所以没有达到20%左右的预期增速上限,与3月工业增加值未能延续1-2月显著高增态势有关。从影响因素看,工业表现走弱可能与“就地过年”下的生产前移、成本过快上升约束企业利润空间以及综合融资条件收紧有关。但在出口、消费、固定资产投资、地产销售等需求端指标表现偏强的支撑下,我国经济景气状态大概率会延续。对股市、债市而言,继3月社融数据显示政策开始转紧后,3月工业表现偏弱将扩大市场对短期政策力度预期上的分歧,“政策缓和”预期或将小幅升温。
—— 郭磊:“3 月经济数据将扩大预期分歧”,2021年4月16日

“碳中和”下新一轮“供给收缩”已拉开帷幕,周期性板块有望迎来景气改善与估值回升。
       2010年起,“供给收缩”决定了周期板块跑赢大盘的时点,从以往经验看,市场对政策的力度总是从怀疑到坚信,周期板块股价上涨滞后于工业品涨价或产能利用率提升,股价弹性取决于基本面与估值,且行情常因政策乏力或需求证伪而终结。但本轮供给收缩与“碳中和”承诺有关,政策执行力坚决,且当前产能利用率与行业集中度较高,“供需缺口”也因经济复苏而持续扩张,受此影响,钢铁、水泥、电解铝、化纤等周期板块有望迎来景气改善与估值提升。
——戴康:“历史“供给收缩”下周期行情启示”,2021年4月9日

拜登基建与加税政策雏形初现但尚有落地阻力,其或略微抬升财政赤字率并终结美股牛市逻辑。
       白宫近期发表的“美国人就业计划”方案是拜登政府加税及基建政策的雏形,但因党内仍有反对加税者、基建与加税需绑定以及部分计划或遭删减,拜登施政计划尚存阻力。预计未来10年美国经济与就业将受益于基建和加税措施,财政赤字略有上行,盈余实现或推迟至2030年。对大类资产而言,旨在缩小贫富差距的新政会抬升美国无风险利率,通胀上行与加税落地将终结美股“长牛”逻辑,但受制于投资规模有限,美国基建加速难以撑起商品走牛逻辑。
—— 张静静:“拜登基建有望进入快速通道,影响几何?”,2021年4月12日

查看研报PDF

法律主体声明:

本报告由广发证券股份有限公司或其关联机构制作,广发证券股份有限公司及其关联机构以下统称为“广发证券”。本报告的分销依据不同国家、地区的法律、法规和监管要求由广发证券于该国家或地区的具有相关合法合规经营资质的子公司/经营机构完成。

广发证券股份有限公司具备中国证监会批复的证券投资咨询业务资格,接受中国证监会监管,负责本报告于中国(港澳台地区除外)的分销。

广发证券(香港)经纪有限公司具备香港证监会批复的就证券提供意见(4 号牌照)的牌照,接受香港证监会监管,负责本报告于中国香港地区的分销。

本报告署名研究人员所持中国证券业协会注册分析师资质信息和香港证监会批复的牌照信息已于署名研究人员姓名处披露。

重要声明:

广发证券股份有限公司及其关联机构可能与本报告中提及的公司寻求或正在建立业务关系,因此,投资者应当考虑广发证券股份有限公司及其关联机构因可能存在的潜在利益冲突而对本报告的独立性产生影响。投资者不应仅依据本报告内容作出任何投资决策。 本报告署名研究人员、联系人(以下均简称“研究人员”)针对本报告中相关公司或证券的研究分析内容,在此声明:(1)本报告的全部分析结论、研究观点均精确反映研究人员于本报告发出当日的关于相关公司或证券的所有个人观点,并不代表广发证券的立场;(2)研究人员的部分或全部的报酬无论在过去、现在还是将来均不会与本报告所述特定分析结论、研究观点具有直接或间接的联系。研究人员制作本报告的报酬标准依据研究质量、客户评价、工作量等多种因素确定,其影响因素亦包括广发证券的整体经营收入,该等经营收入部分来源于广发证券的投资银行类业务。本报告仅面向经广发证券授权使用的客户/特定合作机构发送,不对外公开发布,只有接收人才可以使用,且对于接收人而言具有保密义务。广发证券并不因相关人员通过其他途径收到或阅读本报告而视其为广发证券的客户。在特定国家或地区传播或者发布本报告可能违反当地法律,广发证券并未采取任何行动以允许于该等国家或地区传播或者分销本报告。 本报告所提及证券可能不被允许在某些国家或地区内出售。请注意,投资涉及风险,证券价格可能会波动,因此投资回报可能会有所变化,过去的业绩并不保证未来的表现。本报告的内容、观点或建议并未考虑任何个别客户的具体投资目标、财务状况和特殊需求,不应被视为对特定客户关于特定证券或金融工具的投资建议。本报告发送给某客户是基于该客户被认为有能力独立评估投资风险、独立行使投资决策并独立承担相应风险。 本报告所载资料的来源及观点的出处皆被广发证券认为可靠,但广发证券不对其准确性、完整性做出任何保证。报告内容仅供参考,报告中的信息或所表达观点不构成所涉证券买卖的出价或询价。广发证券不对因使用本报告的内容而引致的损失承担任何责任,除非法律法规有明确规定。客户不应以本报告取代其独立判断或仅根据本报告做出决策,如有需要,应先咨询专业意见。 广发证券可发出其它与本报告所载信息不一致及有不同结论的报告。本报告反映研究人员的不同观点、见解及分析方法,并不代表广发证券的立场。广发证券的销售人员、交易员或其他专业人士可能以书面或口头形式,向其客户或自营交易部门提供与本报告观点相反的市场评论或交易策略,广发证券的自营交易部门亦可能会有与本报告观点不一致,甚至相反的投资策略。报告所载资料、意见及推测仅反映研究人员于发出本报告当日的判断,可随时更改且无需另行通告。广发证券或其证券研究报告业务的相关董事、高级职员、分析师和员工可能拥有本报告所提及证券的权益。在阅读本报告时,收件人应了解相关的权益披露(若有)。 本研究报告可能包括和/或描述/呈列期货合约价格的事实历史信息(“信息”)。请注意此信息仅供用作组成我们的研究方法/分析中的部分论点/依据/证据,以支持我们对所述相关行业/公司的观点的结论。在任何情况下,它并不(明示或暗示)与香港证监会第5类受规管活动(就期货合约提供意见)有关联或构成此活动。

权益披露:

广发证券(香港)跟本研究报告所述公司在过去12 个月内并没有任何投资银行业务的关系。

版权声明:

未经广发证券事先书面许可,任何机构或个人不得以任何形式翻版、复制、刊登、转载和引用,否则由此造成的一切不良后果及法律责任由私自翻版、复制、刊登、转载和引用者承担。